Saturday, 9 December 2017

HAVEN'T YOU HEARD, I'M SAKAMOTO? COMPLETE SEASON 1 COLLECTION

Image result for havent you heard im sakamoto series 1
Haven't You Heard, I'm Sakamoto? Complete Season 1 Collection
Released By: Manga Entertainment
Rating: 15
Running Time: 325 Mins
Audio: English 2.0 Stereo/ 5.1 Dolby
Release Date: Out Now!
Reviewed By: Sandra Scholes 

From the opening you know you are going to take to this anime as Sakamoto is the sort of guy other guys want to be like. He is a cross between Uryu Ishida from Bleach and Sebastian Michaelis from Black Butler.

Friday, 8 December 2017

CHILDREN'S BOOK: DEFENDERS PITCH INVASION BY TOM PALMER

Image result for defenders pitch invasion by tom palmer barrington stoke
Defenders Pitch Invasion
Author: Tom Palmer
Publisher: Barrington Stoke
ISBN:978-1-78112-731-5
Reading Age: 8-12
Reviewed by: Sandra Scholes

You may notice something different about this new series of novels if you are not familiar with them, these are part of the Conkers List. The point of the Conkers list was to provide children with illustrated, beautifully designed and high quality fiction from author and illustrator teams.

Sunday, 3 December 2017

ANIME REVIEW: SHIN GODZILLA


Shin Godzilla
Released By: Manga Entertainment
Rating: 12
Running Time: 119 Mins
Audio: English 2.0 Stereo/ 5.1 Dolby
Release Date: 4/12/2017
Reviewed By: Sandra Scholes 

This is a live action movie for the ones who have read the manga and saw the anime version of it. Most of us by now have seen the Western depiction of Godzilla, but it doesn't quite have that feel we Asian cinema fans are used to.

Wednesday, 29 November 2017

LOVECRAFTIAN BOOK REVIEW: RIDE THE STAR WIND


Image result for ride the star wind
Ride the Star Wind
Edited by: Scott Gable/ C.Dobrowski
Publisher: Broken Eye Books
Reviewed by: Sandra Scholes

I recently reviewed Earth, Air, Fire and Water by Brian Lumley and remember reading other compilations of Cthulhu and Lovecraftian horror stories, and as an avid reader of cosmic weird, Ride the Star Wind felt the perfect next step book to read what I like about this rather thick book are not only the stories, I will be coming to them later. It's the 90s fanzine style cover art and interior illustrations that remind me of the good old days of Star Trek and Star Wars fandom back in the day.

Tuesday, 28 November 2017

ARTICLE: LU OVER THE WALL NEW UK TRAILER

Lu Over the Wall
Image title

New UK Trailer


Releases in Cinemas Wednesday 6th December

Embark on a heartwarming and magical mermaid tale with “Lu over the Wall”, Masaaki Yuasa’s flowing watercolour of kindred spirits, overcoming hatred and winner of Annecy’s prestigious Cristal for a Feature Film.

Thursday, 23 November 2017

INFINITE STARS EDITED BY BRYAN THOMAS SCHMIDT


Infinite Stars
Editor: Bryan Thomas Schmidt
Publisher: Titan Books
ISBN: 9781785655937
Pages: 674
Reviewed by: Sandra Scholes

Space opera and military SF are for most a staple in an enthusiasts reading diet and here we have the definitive anthology of stories from some of the most prominent authors in sci fi today.

ANIME REVIEW: PAPRIKA BLU-RAY/DVD DOUBLE PLAY


Paprika Blu-ray/DVD Double Play
Released By: Manga Entertainment
Rating: 15
Running Time: 90 Mins
Audio: English 2.0 Stereo/ 5.1 Dolby
Release Date: 20/11/2017
Reviewed By: Sandra Scholes 

A detective is busy having an appointment with his psychiatrist about his problems with solving a murder case he is on, and things aren't going as well as he'd hoped, but his psychiatrist isn't what anyone would expect, she is unique in the realms of dream psychology.